Thankful Thursday by Ellie Rotter

This week I asked Elizabeth Rotter, one of the survivors from the accident if she would like to post something, especially after she finished walking the Spartan Sprint Sunday. She was only cleared a month ago which is crazy but awesome! Read below her recap from this past weekend at the Spartan Super and Sprint in Fort Carson.

This past weekend stands out far beyond I have ever experienced on any Spartan Race grounds in my whole OCR participation! After all the outreach, care, concern, care packages, cards, and visits while in and out of being at Craig Hospital, this past Fort Carson weekend surpasses engulfment of love from SO many people! 
18422945_1985073861722632_980449448883641039_o
Laughter and joyful tears started with my best friend Jessica’s coming to town from Arizona, since the last time I was suppose to see her was three month ago to race Spartan Arizona. This was an overdue delayed/postponed race weekend to spend time together and catching up in person prior to being on the race grounds in the Springs.
Saturday’s events started once we stepped into the festival area to visit Stacy Sanderson and the Tatham’s , who were almost on their way out. Friends on Spartan staff gave hugs and talked through any inquiries and discussions to catch up since Breckenridge. Quite a lot to share, including the accident and any life stories that have come up since the last time we all saw each other. Strangers even approached to discuss the significance of the COR medal and reached out to share a hug. Very heart moving!
18491816_10212931569186741_6450585667174023819_o
18447673_10155218182044019_9207198847490957136_n
Sunday’s events started once Jess and I were able to get to the corral and join others to step off into the 9:30am heat! Surrounded by COR jerseys, hugs and tears, once again, it was very welcoming to see members of my extended family in person. It all seemed surreal to experience and the heart beat was normal, knowing what to anticipate for the most part on course. My Spartan nickname quickly changed to “Eli” with an honorary moment of silence plus admiration for dear Corrina, to the crowd being informed that I was standing amongst the corral with everyone else. What a blessing!
18486307_893810960757927_4119584509176821150_n
59197fe11d77d0111142195a-o
With my protective, supportive, encouraging, and belly shaking from laughter COR walkers were amazing to have alongside the whole course! Rachel Babcock, her boyfriend David, plus Jessica and I made it through the course with their circular and vocal protection! Our laughter and story telling are all quite memorable plus being able to take photos of these 3 enjoying the obstacles and getting muddy together was amazing. My itches to run and desires to complete the obstacles were on hold knowing those will be reintroduced once my body is ready to take on the challenges. Knowing that I just started walking without any balance issues a month prior to this weekend, early on having an oxygen tank every night to breathe fully out of both lungs and multiple fractures from my right shoulder to my pelvis, it felt incredible to say the least to be on race grounds taking each step and hill with a soul full of blessings to be able to accomplish such a feat! The third hill had my heart beating faster than ever focused on before and I was very grateful to see the last hill to climb. I will say with determination and perseverance, I climbed each of the 5 hills without taking any breathers until the peaks, grateful for the team around me in case anything happened.
18556902_10212931602547575_4333277278702413229_o
Once we reached Mt. Olympus, my eyes viewed the sea of COR people standing near the finish line and I was already tearful. Our discussion of jumping or walking or going around the fire obstacle spewed into my Niagara Falls of tears seeing, as we got closer to the finish line,  who was standing in front of the whole group, Tiffany, Corrina’s daughter. What an honor to receive the finisher medal from Tiffany! I am still completely humbled and my heart is full of so many incredible emotions from us all being together. These words only summarize a portion of everything that happened this past weekend. May the love of people keep spreading and bring us stronger and healthier together.
Much love,
Elizabeth
Here is a special note from Emily’s mom Julie. Ellie and Emily are buddies through the “I Run 4 Michael” group. More info on that program HERE.
“My daughter just completed her 5K for Elizabeth Rotter. She’s only 9 years old and is a special needs child who Elizabeth actually joined “I Run 4 Michael” group and was matched with my daughter so Elizabeth could run for her.  Since the accident my daughter has been determined now to run for Ellie and she has – and today she did big time!  It’s not easy for her, but she kept her legs moving and had a smile on her face pretty much most of the time.  🙂  I just think having a picture or two of her for Ellie would be neat.
Thank you for the opportunity to do this for these amazing ladies.  My daughter ADORES Elizabeth and even though they haven’t met (we live in Michigan), she has connected deeply with my little girl and helps my daughter overcome and push through her struggles with her special needs.  It’s been a privilege to support Ellie now during this difficult time.
18491536_10155471408842125_3649023774714793085_o
There is so much to be thankful for in our lives and its such a blessing to see everyone coming together to support these ladies. As we continuously mention, medals are still available and will be until all 1900 are gone!!! This is a big task at hand but the least we can try to do for these ladies that have given so much to others.
Remember, if you register and pay by the end of May you will be entered into some awesome prizes such as Tough Mudder entry, OCR Spear, thirty7’s apparel, LuLa Roe and much more.

Why Wait?! Register Today!!! 

Leave a Reply

